Rain, Rain, I’m Ready For You

24 Oct

Or, just let me dress properly for you, dear rain.

I was catching up on the last three days of Women’s Wear Daily and listening to the not-so-gentle pitter patter of rain drops on my window A/C unit. I thought to myself, what am I going to wear when I leave the apartment today. I have eggplant colored Hunter rain boots. So my feet and legs are safe. But I hate every single umbrella I own. It’s a collection of pathetic $5 black umbrellas that never open right bought in emergency from the street vendor combined with branded silver and red umbrellas from various magazines and websites that I’ve worked for and my friends have worked for.  There was one earnest umbrella purchase, a clear plastic dome number that makes me feel like a 6-year old girl. It’s cute, but c’mon. And so, I went in search of the umbrella that would allow me to schlep in the rain, elegantly.

Here’s what I came up with.

Umbrellas.net. A site dedicated to lovely, fashionable umbrellas to carry any woman through  modest  downpours, tempered drizzles, and torrential pseudo-tsunamis. My faves…

Classic black/white/red combination printed on clear plastic gives an airy feel over your head when you hold this up to shield from the rain. The slight dome shape is more protective than the shallower quality of cheaper versions. The hook handle makes for easy "holding" and hanging upon arrival home. Finally, the pattern of birds and flowers provide prettiness. It's something all women need on a lousy-weather day.

Classic black/white/red combination printed on clear plastic gives an airy feel over your head when you hold this up to shield from the rain. The slight dome shape is more protective than the shallower quality of cheaper versions. The hook handle makes for easy "holding" and hanging upon arrival home. Finally, the pattern of birds and flowers provide prettiness. It's something all women need on a lousy-weather day. $54

http://www.umbrellas.net/p-72-broquade-white-recovered-1920s.aspx

This beautiful white brocade number is divine and heavenly on its own. But what really makes this stand out is the exquisite handle. It's a combination of wood and metal, topped off by a fine metal/mesh globe that feels sturdy and secured in the palm of a perfectly manicured hand. A bit pricy at $175 but it is an accessory and you can't frown upon a well-made accessory. Just because it's raining doesn't give us an excuse to commute any less beautifully.

Another angle, to see the handle.

Another angle, to see the handle.

Travel Umbrella

For the travel bug in you, this number collapses and expands with the touch of a button on the handle. And the neon colour pallete literally gives you "sunshine on a cloudy day."

Leave a Reply

