The Winning Dress

19 Mar

Okay, while this is a really, truly cheesy picture taken for the sake of my friend, I wanted to share about this fabulous frock that I purchased.  The dress will be worn while I play the role of “bridesmaid” in one of my dearest friend’s weddings in Honolulu, HI this summer. 

The instructions to the “maids” were as follows:

1) Dress must be pink

2) Dress must be a style you love

3) Dress must be non-bridesmaid-looking

4) Dress must be fabulous

5) Go shop!

Well, with such loose parameters, how could I not get excited? I set out to a huge mall in NJ with my friend, Cheryl, and we went huntin’ dresses!  While in Neiman Marcus (and after making a semi-celeb sighting of a past Project Runway designer), I loaded my arms with everything pink I could find. I walked toward the fitting room with an armful of silk, cotton blends, chiffon, and more silk. As I got close to the fitting room and I saw some magenta frill peeking out from behind several inconsequential black numbers.  I flung my arm out, yanked it from the rack, and added it to my pile.  This dress, a Rebecca Taylor, was the last in the lot I tried and of course, it was the keeper.

I will wear this dress as much as I can because it makes me feel like a million bucks, it’s my favorite color (if you didn’t know already), and it’s effortless (as fashion should be).  You can’t see the be-jeweling under the bust line or the beautiful tiny silk buttons that crawl up my back, but they’re there.  And, these details make this frock to be forever referred to as, “The Dress.”  As Cheryl said, “You are HOT.”  (Thank you, Cheryl).

My pink dress

2 Responses to “The Winning Dress”

  1. Shirley March 25, 2008 at 9:23 pm #

    HOT! I love it!

  2. JGU March 27, 2008 at 8:24 pm #

    LOVE IT!! In the word(s) of Fergie (no, not the Dutchess of York) and Jose’s favorite song, G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S, Glamorous!

Leave a Reply

