Mom always said, “You’ll never know who you’ll meet.”

7 Feb

This morning, while I was walking through Grand Central Station trying to keep my stride, get to the office while balancing 10-15 lbs of handbag/tote-weight while wearing three-inch heels, I was stopped by a woman.

She started with, “Excuse me, I don’t mean to be rude but…” At this point, in my head I braced myself for her to tell me that I shoved her aside while climbing up the subway steps and she felt the need to tell me how inconsiderate I was. Instead, this is what happened.

Lady: “”Excuse me, I don’t mean to be rude but I just have to tell you that you. are. fabulous. (insert hand that gestures across the whole body).” 

Me: (dumbstruck) “Wow, thank you so much.”

Lady: “You’re welcome. What do you do?”

Me: “Funny you should ask. I’m in advertising but have started my own business as a style consultant.”

The conversation continued and we exchanged cards. Turns out, she’s in the beauty industry and wanted simply “network”.  I happily exchanged cards with her.  I don’t know what’s to come of it if anything, but I certainly was 1) flattered, 2) excited that perhaps she could turn into a very good resource for me and perhaps I could do the same for her.

Granted, encounters of this nature are few in NYC. Most people keep to themselves. But I can’t even begin to describe the numerous times I’ve had a woman ask me where I got my [fill in the blank].  Taking care of yourself, making sure you’re as top as you can be when it comes to our outward appearance counts for so much and could absolutly be responsible for the next cool experience or opportunity you could have.

For the record, I was wearing a knee-length charcoal pleated skirt, gray tights, black boots, and an olive-colored bomber jacket. Oh, not to forget the fabulous tomato red handbag I got for a sinful-good price in Bogota, Colombia.

Best site of the moment: Twistonline.com.  Amazing jewelry and they have a store in Brooklyn.

Here’s to a fortuitous commute,

Zovig

3 Responses to “Mom always said, “You’ll never know who you’ll meet.””

  1. dorio February 8, 2008 at 7:35 pm #

    I think we need a PHOTO of the fab look in question:) Please? I am dying to see it.

  2. callastyle February 8, 2008 at 8:05 pm #

    Don’t you know I thought of that too late? I actually am getting together some plans of ways to get photos up reguarly, of myself and of my colleagues and feature a “best outfit of the day.”
    Stay tuned!

    -Zovig

  3. dorio February 9, 2008 at 6:39 pm #

    Excellent! Love the idea of best outfit of the day.

Leave a Reply

